Sunday, July 20, 2014

Putting faces on Anzac legend

From the Maitland Mercury report:
It has been 14 years since Yvonne Fletcher started her deconstruction of the Anzac legend.

Bolwarra Heritage Walk

Friends of Grossmann House
Come along and join us in our heritage walk in Bolwarra - The 19thCentury Gentleman’s Suburb. Learn about this suburb’s history and discover the diverse and beautiful architecture with our popular guide, Wayne Campbell. Take peak into the past and experience the gardens and vista of gentlemen’s residences Afternoon Tea is included.

2.00 PM SUNDAY 3rd AUGUST 2014

 $25 or $20 National Trust Members
Bookings essential
Janece 49334450 or Grossmann House 49336452

2014 Royal Australian Historical Society Annual Conference

The 2014 Conference will be held at Mittagong RSL, 25 – 26 October 2014. The theme is Moving History and delegates will have the opportunity to discover how history is about change over time and is always moving as we respond to new information and ask questions about the past.
More information available at the RAHS website.

Now and then: Maitland Showground

From the Maitland Mercury report:
Maitland Showground is significant for its historical connection to the River Agricultural and Horticultural Association, the oldest continuing regional agricultural association on the Australian mainland, dating from August 18, 1859.
The long-standing interest in promoting better farming in the area dates from 1822, when the Agricultural Society of NSW made special provision for representation to be given to the Hunter Region.
Full article available at Maitland Mercury, July 12, 2014.

Elder pays homage to boxing legend David Sands

From the Maitland Mercury report:
Maitland Citizen of the Year and Aboriginal elder Lance Murray has compiled a display of Aboriginal items for NAIDOC Week which celebrates the history, culture and achievements of indigenous people.
The display includes stone tools, throwing sticks and books as well as a tribute to boxer David Sands.
Full article available at Maitland Mercury, July 8, 2014.

Tocal building wins architecture award

From the Maitland Mercury report:
Exactly 50 years since it was first ­awarded, the CB Alexander College building at Tocal has been celebrated again.
Designers of the building and Cox Architecture founders Philip Cox and Ian McKay received the Australian Institute of Architects’ Award for Enduring Architecture at the NSW Architecture Awards last week.
The award comes 50 years after the architecture duo and the college received the state’s top award for public architecture, the Sulman Medal.
Full article available at Maitland Mercury, July 3, 2014.

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Then and now: Regent street history and grandeur in heart of the city, Maitland

From the Maitland Mercury report:
Classified as an urban conservation area, Regent Street is home to some of Maitland’s monumental mansion’s like Benhome and Cintra House. 
Cintra (which can be seen in the right hand corner of this photograph taken in 1955) was designed by Hunter ­architectural firm of J.W. Pender and completed in 1878. 
The two-storey villa, including garden and stables, has strong links to Maitland’s Jewish community having been designed for the famous Jewish merchant families of Levy and Cohen. 
Full article available at Maitland Mercury, June 21, 2014.